异步 FIFO

IDT 异步 FIFO 产品是一种在传输完成之前,允许继续进行其他数据处理的内存形式。 异步 FIFO 使用空和满标志防止数据上溢和下溢,并扩展逻辑来实现字体大小和深度的无限制扩展功能。 并行异步 FIFO 结合之后可使用各种字体大小,而串行异步 FIFO 通信则能简化数据传输。

Download: IDT FIFO Products Package and Ordering Information (PDF)
Download: Military and Aerospace Product Overview (PDF)
Download: Best In Class FIFO Products (PDF)
Download: IDT Specialty Memory Products Overview (PDF)

关于异步 FIFO 器件
异步 FIFO 是一种数据缓冲器,其中第一个到达输入的字节将成为第一个离开输出的字节。 在计算机系统中,操作系统的算法将根据流程的接收顺序安排每个流程的 CPU 时间。 异步 FIFO 将排列数据并按顺序将其释放。

IDT 异步 FIFO 通常用于 CPU 和其他计算机硬件的同步。 FIFO 通常按照圆形队列实施,因此具有读取和写入指针。 同步 FIFO 使用时钟进行读写,而异步 FIFO 则通常由异步信号进行控制。

选择异步 FIFO 的关键参数包括:

  • 核心电压:用于向器件供电的电源电压。 这通常由系统中的电源轨决定。
  • I/O 电压:用于数据输入和输出的电压,在某些器件中该电压与核心电压无关。
  • 密度: 这是指异步 FIFO 将保留在其寄存器中的位数。 IDT 可提供最高达 512 Kb 的规格。
  • 总线宽度:用于读取和写入器件的“通道”数量。 IDT 提供所有常用配置。
  • 存取时间: 从器件读取下一位的时间。 理想情况下,异步 FIFO 的存取时间应足够快,从而与 CPU 同步。 如果不同步,CPU 将浪费一定数量的时钟周期,从而导致速度变慢。 IDT 可提供低至 12 纳秒的存取时间。

Asynchronous FIFOs

IDT asynchronous FIFO products are a form of memory that allows data processing to continue before the transmission has finished. The asynchronous FIFOs use full and empty flags to prevent data overflow and underflow and expansion logic to allow for unlimited expansion capability in both word size and depth. Combining parallel asynchronous FIFOs allows various word sizes while serial asynchronous FIFO communication simplifies data transfer.

Download: IDT FIFO Products Package and Ordering Information
Download: Military and Aerospace Product Overview
Download: Best In Class FIFO Products
Download: IDT Specialty Memory Products Overview

About Asynchronous FIFO Devices
Asynchronous FIFOs are a type of data buffer, where the first byte to arrive at the input is the first to leave at the output. In a computer system, the operating system’s algorithm schedules CPU time for each process according to the order in which it is received. An asynchronous FIFO will queue the data and release it in a sequential fashion.

IDT asynchronous FIFOs are typically used for synchronization of CPU and other computer hardware. FIFOs are generally implemented as a circular queue, and thus have a read and write pointer. Synchronous FIFOs use clocks for reading and writing, while asynchronous FIFOs are usually controlled by asynchronous signals.

Key parameters for choosing an asynchronous FIFO include:

  • core voltage: the supply voltage used to power the device. This is typically defined by the power rails available in the system.
  • I/O voltage: the voltage used for the data input and output, for some devices this is seperate from the core voltage.
  • density: this is the number of bits the asynchronous FIFO will hold in its register. IDT offers sizes up to 512 Kb.
  • bus width: the number of “lanes” used to read and write to the device. IDT offers all popular configurations.
  • access time: the time it takes to read the next bit from the device. Ideally, the access time of the asynchronous FIFO should be fast enough to keep up with the CPU. If not, the CPU will waste a certain number of clock cycles, which makes it slower. IDT offers access times down to 12 nanoseconds.